On Rebellion

by: John Knox

Edited by Roger A. Mason



Author: John Knox

Edited by Roger A. Mason

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

Series: Cambridge Texts in the History of Political Thought

List price: £ 23.99   discount 15% price (info) $ 33.71

Shipping Costs: 0€ FREE Shipping by Standard Mail Details

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication date: 20 January 1994

This Product is Available
This item is available
Usually shipped within: 12 working days (info)
ISBN: 0521399882 ISBN 13: 9780521399883

Knox by John Knox

An edition of John Knox's most important writings on the theme of rebellion against tyranny. Top page

Complete description

John Knox's First Blast of the Trumpet against the Monstrous Regiment of Women, one of the most notorious political tracts of the sixteenth century, has been more often referred to than read. Its true significance as one of a series of pamphlets which Knox wrote in 1558 on the theme of rebellion is therefore easily overlooked. This new edition of his writings includes not only The First Blast, but the three other tracts of 1558 -The Letter to the Regent of Scotland, The Appellation to the Scottish Nobility, and The Letter to the Commonalty of Scotland - in which Knox confronted the problem of resistance to tyranny. Related material, mostly drawn from Knox's own History of the Reformation in Scotland, illuminates the development of his views before 1558 and illustrates their application in the specific circumstances of the Scottish Reformation and the rule of Mary Queen of Scots. This edition thus brings together for the first time all of Knox's most important writings on rebellion. Top page

General info

Publisher & Imprint: Cambridge University Press

City: Cambridge

Pages: 290

More info: height 216 mm width 138 mm weight 400 gr thickness 19 mm

Top page

Age recommended: Professional and scholarly

Subject Indexing & Classification Dewey:(DC20) 285.2092 Library of Congress Subject: BR385 .K65 1994 Reformation--Scotland--Sources

Record updated at: 02 October, 2014 time: 13:29

Summary Knox Part I: The 1558 Tracts (The First Blast of the Trumpet, The Letter to the Regent, The Appellation to the Nobility and Estates of Scotland, The Letter to the Commonalty, Summary of the Second Blast of the Trumpet); Part II: Knox and Scotland 1557-1564 (various letters and debates). Top page

Add your comment

Add a review - Highlight this book to a friend

Please login or register to send your review

Top page
More title of this author

Buying in
is safe!