Grande Expectations

How Understanding Starbucks Demystifies the Stock Market - And How it Can Make You a Better Investor

by: Karen Blumenthal

Grande Expectations
Author: Karen Blumenthal

Publisher: Piatkus Books

List price: £ 8.99

Deastore.com price (info) $ 15.82

Shipping Costs: 0€ FREE Shipping by Standard Mail Details

Format: Paperback / softback

Publication date: 08 January 2009

Item  not available
At the moment this item is not available. You can add it to the wish list to control its status in the future
ISBN: 0749928565 ISBN 13: 9780749928568

Grande Expectations by Karen Blumenthal

A fascinating exploration of one company's year in the stock market Top page

Complete description

The world of publicly traded companies can be confusing. What does a particular stock skyrocket one day and plummet the next? How is the value of a company - particularly a multi-national one - really determined? Karen Blumenthal, a veteran reporter and editor for the Wall Street Journal, provides all of these questions and more in this riveting book. A grand business narrative in the tradition of Michael Lewis, Grande Expectations shows how money is made and lost by following one familiar stock, Starbucks, over the course of an entire year, demonstrating how all the players - big and small investors, company management, the media, and more - determine its performance.Blumenthal takes us behind the scenes at the company's annual stockholders meeting, into the inner sanctum of Starbucks's corporate headquarters, and introduces us to an array of colourful characters: the head of an investment club, a paranoid short seller, the manager of a huge investment portfolio, and more. What emerges is not only a demystification of the complex world of high finance, but a compelling biography of one of the world's most recognised brands. Top page

General info

Publisher & Imprint: Piatkus Books

City: London

Pages: 320

More info: height 197 mm width 130 mm thickness 21 mm

Top page

Age recommended: General/trade

Subject Indexing & Classification Dewey:(DC22) 332.63222

Departments: Stocks & shares;

Record updated at: 21 March, 2014 time: 01:59


Add your comment

Add a review - Highlight this book to a friend

Please login or register to send your review

Top page
More title of this author More books from the same department

Buying in deastore.com
is safe!